Influencer Interview (Part 2): YouTuber Nadine McAuliffe’s tips on how to approach YouTube

Photo Credit: nadineishere
Photo Credit: nadineishere

Welcome to Part 2 of my interview with YouTuber Nadine McAuliffe. In this post, we chat about what goes on behind-the-scenes of creating a YouTube video and what it takes to keep a channel up and running. We also talk about how negativity online can affect content creators. This part of the interview was my favourite to chat about because I learnt a few things along the way too. Hopefully audiences and future YouTubers can all gain something from hearing an online influencer’s perspective. Read on!

  1. Can you describe your filming set-up?

Sure! I use a Canon70D and a tripod, I usually film in my bedroom with a standing lamp on my bed for lighting. It’s not the most glamourous set up ever but I’m hoping to improve it in the future, or at least get around to getting my wall painted so it’s not purple anymore. That’s getting old fast.

  1. You post videos every week. How important is it to upload regularly?

Extremely. If you’re not uploading regularly there’s no reason for people to subscribe at all, which is why you can find viral videos with millions of views associated with channels which only have hundreds, or a few thousands, of subscribers.
I haven’t always been consistent which has hurt the growth of my channel. There was a good 6 months to a year where I would upload a video and end up with LESS subscribers than before I did it. People forget about the channel if it’s not active. When you’re an online personality, being relevant and present is one of the most important things ever, not only on YouTube but other social media like Facebook and Twitter.

  1. Do you make videos with your audience in mind?

Not really, I make videos that I like the idea of making and that I know I’ll have fun with. If you’re totally consumed with what your audience thinks then you’re going to be too scared to do anything new, which they might have liked if you just went for it. I feel like a YouTube channel should be a reflection of who you are, not what people are telling you to be.

  1. What do you do when you’re struggling to come up with fresh ideas for you content? 

Apart from cry? Haha! I try not to run out of ideas. Some come from ideas I’ve had for ages and want to do one day and others stem from things I see online, like articles, things I learn at university or just good conversations I’ve had.
I just try to write everything down so if I’m having a hard time coming up with something I can refer to it and see if there’s anything there I want to make. If I don’t have much time to come up with an idea/ write a script I usually just do a fun Q&A video or a would you rather video or something along those lines.

  1. How do you deal with negative comments on YouTube or people who are unsupportive/don’t understand your channel?

It’s hard, it really is. Especially if you’ve had a hard day in the real world and then log in and see some hurtful comments. That doesn’t really make you feel good about yourself.
However, it’s important to understand that they’re just comments and nothing more. That person just wanted to be rude for the sake of it and, for the most part, the positive outweigh the negative. Most of them are pretty funny though, it’s quite obvious that they’ve just read the title of the video, got angry and wrote a comment.

This is the second and last installment of my interview with Nadine. Click back through the blog to read part 1.

A massive thank you to Nadine for being so open and keen to answer anything I could throw at her.

She can be found on her YouTube channel ‘nadineishere’ and on her Twitter @Nadineee. She uploads a new video every week – go show her some love!

Mariel x

One thought on “Influencer Interview (Part 2): YouTuber Nadine McAuliffe’s tips on how to approach YouTube

  1. Wow I totally didn’t realise just how much work went into producing YouTube videos! It really is a full time gig and shouldn’t be overlooked as a profession – these guys work really hard to make quality videos for our endless hours of procrastination.

    Like

Leave a Reply

